Up stream

April 14, 2010

So, this is it.  I have, after much debate, decided to create a blog.  I have always thought it would be interesting to have one, but never thought anyone would have any desire to read it.  But, if only for myself, I now have a place to record my thoughts.  One condition though, I’ll attempt to write about things that have some shred of significance. Here’s why, Perez Hilton has ruined America. (this is what I meant in my description as “uninformed opinions”)  He has a blog and abuses its power to leverage things.  Why should he be a judge of Miss America?  What qualifies him to judge that contest? (what qualifies anyone?)  But because of his wayward blog I promise to only discuss issues with some relevance, at least more so than Snooki’s hair problem.

This is why it is called Up stream. A friend of mine once told me a Rwandan proverb; “Only dead fish swim with the stream”.  This seems like a pretty good reason to go against the current.  Sure, there are many proverbs like this one from every corner of the globe.  But this one was significant to me.  I studied Swahili in college, (Nikulisoma Kiswahili for those who also studied) and took a few courses about Africa.  Up stream we go, treading over all other cultural proverbs that mean the same thing.

So, I’ll try to talk about relevant things that might be of interest to others.  No promises.  I’ll try to use good proper grammar.  Unlikely.  And (failed already with the grammar) I may potentially be forced into generating educated opinions. I hope not.

Leave a Reply

